July Favorites

Blog Post Cover Photo

Hey WordPress friends! How are you doing? Hope you all had a fun July 🙂 I had the busiest month and made some of the best memories of the summer, and possibly for years to come! As you may have read a few weeks back, my computer broke down, and my summer term was starting on top of that, so I decided to make my weekly highlights into a monthly highlights feature. That way I could have more time to work on it and make it interesting and not something rushed and put out right away.

I decided to take some time and change up the structure of this feature, I added some new elements to it so hopefully you guys like what I put out! With that I’ll go ahead and jump right into July!

Favorite Experiences:

Fourth of July

Kristofer and I spent Independence Day with my parents and it was one of the most relaxing days that I’ve had in a long time. We spent the day on their boat, and we made our way down to the annual Blues Festival in Portland. The sun was out, the distant sound of jazz/blues was playing in the background and all of the sweet smells from the river were in the air. It truly was a perfect day. This time last year, Kris and I were preparing for our wedding and there was a lot going on even after it was over, so we never got a chance to spend time on the boat that summer. We were so glad we could make time for it this year.

We floated around in the water all day, and then once it was dark, we watched the fireworks together. It was beautiful! I did my best to put my phone away and enjoy the spectacle, but I wanted to snap a few photos to see if I could take one decent one, and I ended up with this gem ♥

IMG_3605.JPG

It’s a little difficult to see this in the background of the photo, but there is a huge bridge that goes over the water, and dozens of cars were pulled over into the shoulder to check out the show, it happens every year and it aways make me laugh.

IMG_3609.JPG

I took this photo on the way back to the dock. I don’t know what it is about being in the city at night time, but I fall in love with all of the lights when they turn on and interact with each other, and it looks even more beautiful reflected off of the water ♥

 

Portland Zoo Trip

For my friend’s birthday this year, she wanted to go to the zoo, so we spent the day there. Cute animals, nice weather, it was a great combination!

The giraffe on the left was being ridiculous and flailing his tongue around, literally. I couldn’t stop laughing, and thankfully I snapped a decent photo of it. In the middle is the baby elephant we saw, we arrived at the elephant exhibit right as feeding time was starting, so we got to see it splash and play in the water. The right photo, and quite possibly my favorite photo EVER, was taken in the goat petting zoo. I love goats, I think they are goofy and cute and adorable all at the same time, and I want to have a goat farm one day because I’m very weird…Anyway I took this photo of us together, and it seriously looks like he is smiling for the picture. How cute is that?! ♥♥♥

Afterwords, we drove into Portland to grab some Voodoo Donuts, because if you spend a day in Portland, you can’t not eat donuts from there. Afterwards we grabbed dinner and with it I had a delicious black cherry mojito (BEST drink at Buffalo Wild Wings, for sure) then called it a day. It was so fun and just so nice to get out of the house and out of town for a little while.

One Year Anniversary

The day after the zoo trip was me and my husband’s one year anniversary. Unfortunately I had to work later on that day, so we got up early to do our celebrating. I had a surprise planned for him where I wrote down several different reasons why I love him, and I hid them in different locations for him to find, like a scavenger hunt. He really enjoyed it and I really enjoyed planning it. When you don’t have a lot of money to spend, you learn to get creative with your gift ideas, and this is one I’m proud of ♥ Also, at the wedding, we had a cake specifically for us, and we had cupcakes for our guests. We were so busy during the reception that we only got a couple of bites, so when our anniversary came around on the 16th, we had basically an entire cake! Unfortunately we didn’t finish it in time before it went bad, but we were able to eat a decent amount still. I can’t believe it has been a whole year being married to this wonderful man, it has been the best year of my life ♥

IMG_3833

I took this photo of Kris while he was looking for all of the clues (each reason why I love him came with a clue for the next location).

John Mayer Concert

Kristofer and I saw John Mayer in Portland on the 22nd on his Search for Everything Tour at the Moda Center. It has been a couple of weeks, and I still can’t stop raving about how much fun it was! The best part about the whole night was that our tickets were upgraded when we got there. We ended up being just above ground level and a few hundred feet away from the stage. He played a lot of his new songs, and some old favorites of mine. One in particular that he played was Tom Petty’s Free Fallin’ with the John Mayer Trio. I love love LOVE his version of it, and I was so overjoyed when I heard him sing it ♥♥♥ There wasn’t a dull moment at his show, and he always keeps up a conversation with his audience in between sets. It was so much fun!

IMG_3985.JPG

This is my favorite photo of the concert that I took, one of like…a million LOL.

The Night Game opened for him, and they had great music! The frontman for the band Boys Like Girls, Martin Johnson, helped form the group and they played a few of their new songs. If you have a chance, listen to their song Outfield, it’s very catchy!

 

Favorite Outfits

I wore this dress to the John Mayer concert. I bought it at Old Navy about a month ago, and finally had an excuse to wear it! It is a light material, so it was perfect for the part of the day we were standing outside in the hot sun.

fullsizeoutput_be.jpeg

This outfit is pretty simple, but most of my wardrobe is, and I try to keep it that way. I wore this dress to my graduation ceremony last month and it was perfect for the hot weather I had to endure while sitting outside. So it is a great item for summer and is light enough to wear out. The cardigan was something I bought just a couple of days ago, and my, is it cozy! I usually go for sweaters and jackets that are grey or black because they can be paired with so much! Plus, this will be a good cardigan to wear for when the weather transitions into fall when it’s both warm and cool. I hope I can make this one last for a long time!

Favorite Songs

Emoji of a Wave by John Mayer – So I heard this song for the first time at the concert, and it is so pretty! What I love about his music is that it is very relaxing and calming to listen to, and this song is a perfect example of that to me. It is one of my favorite off of his new album and I listen to it on my drives to work/school to wake me up.

Hotel California by The Eagles – I watched an interesting documentary about the band on Netflix this month. I grew up listening to them so hearing all of their songs during the film sort of put me on a binge. This song is one of my favorites by them, and it’s definitely one of their most popular ones!

Diamonds by The Boxer Rebellion – I actually heard this song for the first time today! It was playing on the radio on my way home from school, and it made for some pretty great driving music. I’ll have to check out more of their music!

How’s It Going To Be by Third Eye Blind – Basically this entire album is amazing, but that’s a lot of music to include in one post ha! So This song was chosen because it’s one of my favorites. I did some serious crafting to this album this month, some of my best work!

This concludes my monthly favorites post, I hope you enjoyed reading all about my fun adventures! July was packed full of them, and I hope August and September will be the same. You will soon find out ! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

