Table Project – Part 2

Hello all, happy Wednesday! How are you this week?

I’m feeling pretty good today, it’s day 3 of my brief summer break. I’m feeling well rested and excited to tackle this table project I have planned!

I got started on sanding one of the three pieces of wood today, and it is definitely a little harder than I thought it would be. I did some research online to find the best approach with cedar wood.  There was a page on eBay that has been extremely helpful to me, and it advised me to use sandpaper with grit between 140 to 180. This is because cedar wood is soft and porous (the higher the grit, the less coarse the sandpaper). It also said to use tack cloth along with it, specifically after the sanding, to pick up all of the dust and particles sanded off of the wood. You can click here to view the article.

So far this is how it’s looking after the first round of sanding.

IMG_3565

I walked over to Bi Mart for these materials and was able to find sandpaper with a grit of 150, along with some tack cloth. Together these cost me only $4.28, pretty cheap!

IMG_3564

And of course as soon as I was ready to get started, my furry sidekick Nessy was sitting on the table, so properly, waiting to assist me ♥

IMG_3562

While I was at the store, I looked in the paint section to see what my options were and what prices I’d be facing later on. I came across a really nice, soft blue color called Serenity Blue. This light color would allow our hardwood floors to stand out quite a bit I think. I’m considering this as one of my color options, but I’d still like to keep myself open to other ideas. I use blue a lot these days, so it might be nice to break out from that, but we will see.

IMG_3560

I might need to go over the first piece once more, I got it pretty well smoothed out, but I might need to make it smoother. I think I’ll ask my husband first what he thinks and then decide. I haven’t done any wood projects before, and he knows a little more about this stuff than I do.

That’s all I’ve got for you today! Any advise or critique is welcome, and greatly appreciated!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

