Entryway Wall Makeover

Hello readers! I hope you’re all doing well and having a good week. I wanted to share with you my recent project in the entryway of the apartment.

One of the first areas that I decorated when we moved in was the entryway wall, and I did it in such a rush that everything looked random and not very well put together (in other words, I was too impatient to wait and needed to decorate something, asap). So I decided to redo this wall and I am really pleased with the way it turned out!

 

Entry Way Wall

This is the finished product! My goal for this area was to fill up as much of the blank space as I could, and to make it the area of the apartment where the three of us (me, my husband and my brother in law) could find things of importance and keep each other up to date on things. We haven’t been very good about splitting up chores for example. We all do them, but sometimes we do the same one while the rest of the house is in need of some TLC, so I made a chart for dividing up household duties.

Along with that is our whiteboard calendar. I have had this calendar for almost a year now, and it has served as a helpful tool in keeping each other up to date on our work schedules and other events.

I think my favorite part of this project was finding the black wire basket. I found it at Michaels (I know, shocker) for about $15. I decided to make it our designated mail box where we keep important letters, bills, etc. I actually found a cardboard mailbox at Hobby Lobby last winter, and I decorated it and used it as a place for our mail, but it wasn’t helpful. Everyone kept forgetting it was on the bookshelf and mail would get lost and forgotten inside of it. So I figured I would start fresh with this wire basket, and make sure it’s well seen so that everyone will remember to open their mail.

I’ve had the decorative signs you see in the top right corner for a while now. I wanted to add them as the final elements to fill in the small space that was left. I found the “Home” sign at a fun little thrift shop called the Find near my college campus. The “131” drawing was made by me, with printer paper and black pen, pretty simple.

I am so glad I redid this wall, not only does it look more organized and put together, but it serves as a go-to area where all of us can keep up with what’s going on. With all of us having opposite work/class schedules, it can be hard to communicate sometimes, so this serves as another way of doing it.

If you are living with several roommates or family members and life gets busy among all of you, maybe try designating a specific area of your home to keeping each other posted and making sure responsibilities are taken care of.  I chose the entryway for this because it’s a spot that you can’t avoid when you walk into the apartment. I have had this up for a week now, and already my life is feeling more together – as much as it can anyway, I’m only 23 and have no idea what I’m doing.  πŸ˜‰

I hope you all enjoyed this post, let me know in the comments what you think, and follow me to see more of my decorating adventures!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Entryway Wall Makeover

  1. I love this! I used to have a whiteboard when I lived with my sister too. We had different schedules, so it saved us time from asking each other “hey, you free?” Haha!

    This is great and so organized. ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

