Little Things of the Week #3

Weekly Feature 3-4_LI.jpg

 

Hey readers! This is my second post today, Fridays are almost always the days that I have time, so hello again!

I’m excited to get into this week’s highlights, mostly because that’s all I have to cling to this week. Sad, I know. I got really sick on Sunday with some kind of flu/cold hybrid. I felt awful all week and spent all of my time laying on the couch, I was a congested and feverish mess. Blech! Not a great week for me.

ANYWAY, this post is supposed to be about looking at the positive elements of life, so I will do just that!

Weekly Feature 3-1I took this photo last Sunday, when my husband and I were on our way back home after visiting with family.

That was the first day that I fell ill, and I was NOT doing well. I had taken some Dayquil just a couple of hours beforehand and experienced for the first time what it’s like to take medication that isn’t non drowsy in the middle of the day. It wasn’t unlike being tipsy after having a glass of alcohol. So I was both stuffy and dizzy, a great combination. It did help my symptoms though, so I can’t complain too much.

Anyway, during my hazy state of being, I snapped this photo of a bridge we crossed that overlooks the Willamette River. It was a beautiful day and I have a lot of fond memories of spending my summer days as a child at this river, so it was a comforting view during our car ride home ♥

Weekly Feature 3-4

While I was confined to the living room couch for several days, I did what I could to entertain myself, and I continued on in my adventures with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. It isn’t often during the school year that I get to just sit down and take some time to read a good book, and life just sort of forced me to that point this week. I wasn’t in the mood to do homework, and it wasn’t like I was going to my classes anyway, so I took advantage of the time and lost myself in the story. It helped me feel better and distracted me kept me from being sad and grumpy over my circumstances.

Weekly Feature 3-3

This wonderful photo was taken on Thursday. I was still feeling pretty crummy, but I HAD to get out of the house. I was going crazy. So my sweet and wonderful husband packed us a lunch and we drove to the nearest park and enjoyed the sun. We didn’t do very much but walk around and take in the outside, but I enjoyed every moment of it. He decided to be a dork and attempt to put on my sweatshirt and steal my phone and run away with it halfway on his body.

This is why I love him so much, he will go out of his way to look ridiculous, but even though I roll my eyes, he knows that eventually I will start laughing. He provided me with many laughs that I was in dire need of this week ♥

Weekly Feature 3-2Weekly Feature 3-5

I ended this week in a pleasant mood, I had started feeling a lot better and could finally breathe through my nose again. I spent the last day of free time that I had by working on my wedding scrapbook. I have only been scrapbooking for a year, and it has all been on this particular event. I love it! I just want to document everything now so that I can decorate all over the photos! This put me in a calm and relaxed mood, and now I only have three more pages to finish!

 

This week was certainly difficult, the most difficult I’ve had in a while. But what I appreciate about this time is that my crummy circumstances forced me to slow down and take a break from work and school, because my body demanded it. Sometimes it’s necessary to take those breaks and remember how good it feels to sleep in, how good it feels to lay on the couch , curled up in your coziest blanket with a good book firmly in your grip. I forgot how necessary it is to slow down and turn off the outside world for a bit and focus on what I need, it was a blessing in disguise.

I’m thankful for this week.

Thank you all for reading! Did you have a hard week? A fun and memorable one? What were some negative aspects of it that actually turned out to be a good thing? Let me know in the comments what you think, I would love to hear from you!

Have a great weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

