A Great Perspective on House Cleaning

Hey everyone! Happy Thursday, I hope you’re all well! I apologize for not posting for several days. I’m trying to blog at least once a week, and I believe I blogged twice last week, but I still feel like it’s been too long. School has been eating up a lot of my time, and now I finally have a moment to breathe and type out my thoughts for you all.

I feel like I might be a little late in the game posting about this, we are coming towards the end of spring and most people have probably done their spring cleaning by now. Regardless, this is a topic that has been on my heart ever since I read the article in the Magnolia Journal. In the spring edition, Joanna Gaines wrote a piece titled A Case For Spring Cleaning, and I really appreciated her perspective on the topic.

Joanna speaks to the deeper reasons as to why  it’s beneficial to clean our homes. She explains that with creating a cleaner, clutter-free environment, it also can help alleviate the anxieties of life, and it can feel rather therapeutic. She ends the article by explaining that cleaning your home can be a way to express thankfulness as well. “It’s actually about nurturing, about being grateful, and about making room in your life to take good care of what you already have” (Gaines, 30).

It sometimes surprises me to read Joanna’s words, because I feel like she takes them straight from my brain and prints them on paper. I am so glad that she looks at spring cleaning -and cleaning in general- in this perspective, because this is exactly how it feels for me. I make time to clean my home and tidy it up not just because it’s a chore, but because it’s out of love and a heart of gratitude.

I love making time to decorate my home and do projects, but I also love getting to clean it because I feel like doing either of these things holds the same value. Like decorating, cleaning up around the house gives me a chance to show off how lovely it really is, whether that means dusting, vacuuming, mopping, or even scrubbing the toilet (not my favorite, but necessary).

My apartment is not cheap, and it took a long time for my husband and I to be able to afford a new home, but we were finally able to save up enough money and come here. I want to make sure that I always walk through the door of this apartment with a heart of thankfulness and humility.

I also agree with Joanna on the point that cleaning can often feel therapeutic. For the last two and a half years, I’ve been working a house cleaning job that I do once a week. In these last two and a half years, I have experienced tremendous amounts of anxiety over a multitude of things, and up until recently, I hadn’t gone to counseling for it or learned how to manage it. I can honestly say that cleaning every Friday morning helps me through it. It gives me something to focus on.

That is all I have for now, I just wanted to applaud this article and add my take to it. I hope you all enjoyed! Please do let me know in the comments what you think. I would love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

