Fun Living Room Project in the Making

 

Hey there readers, happy Monday! I have a fun project I’d like to share with you all! This one hasn’t even been started yet, but the ideas and design are currently being brainstormed and I wanted to let you in on what’s going on.

Kristofer and I currently have a TV stand that we are using for the TV and other consoles we use, and it is small, very small. To add to the inconvenience, the cable outlet is right next to the large (and only) window we have in the living room. So the TV sits awkwardly in the corner and overlaps with the window so that we can connect everything nearby.

We decided that since we can’t do much about the positioning of our entertainment center, we want to build a stand that adds convenience but also accentuates the window in the room.

Window Seat #1

What we plan to do is make a large wooden structure that serves as a bench with storage space underneath the window, and an entertainment center at the far left. The structure would extend from the left end of the window to the corner on the right.

Window Seat #2

This is what we drew up as our final design, and we plan to start buying wood pieces for it soon and begin building.

Image result for rain paint color 6219

This is the paint color Rain (6219). I looked at a few soft grays and found this one to be my favorite, so I plan to paint the structure this color. This photo can be found at its original source rughdesign.com if you want to learn more about it.

Once we reach a certain point in building it, of course I will want seat cushions and curtains as well. I’m trying to take this project one step at a time though, it’s the biggest one Kristofer and I have ever taken on!

We estimated this whole process to cost at least $200, which is a lot for us, so we will have to take this on in small pieces. It would be nice to do it all at once of course, but it gives me more blogging material to work with if I can write about it for the next couple of months.

I’m excited to share our journey with you on the blog!

Do you have any suggestions or comments? Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

