Bedroom Makeover

Hello readers, happy Sunday to you all!

This week’s post is one that I’m very excited to share with you, because this is the biggest project I’ve done.

Over the weekend, Kristofer and I rearranged our bedroom. If you have read my introduction entry (my first ever blog post), you know that I want to go into Home Staging for my career. Decorating is something I’m passionate about, and I have been drawn to it since I was about 11. Right now, I’m trying to build a portfolio of my experience, but the problem is that I don’t really have any! I have used Homestyler for my creations, but it isn’t real life, and I know it’s important to have that level of experience in order to be taken seriously for a job.

Saturday morning, Kristofer helped me move some things around in our bedroom so that I could practice for real, and I’m so thrilled with how it turned out!

 This was our bedroom before we rearranged everything. I really don’t know what possessed me to position the bed this way when we moved here, but it has been like this for a while. We had space with this layout, but as you can see, it was narrow, so not the most convenient orientation. Also, the bed wasn’t lined up with the window, and that drove me CRAZY.

This is our room rearranged! We took the bed apart and moved it to face parallel to the window, as you can see. I LOVE this so much more, because now when I’m sitting in bed, I can actually look out of the window rather than face away from it. Nessy is enjoying easier access to the window too as you can see haha. With this orientation, the floor space that we have makes more sense, and it’s less narrow and broken up this way. This makes the room feel more whole rather than chopped up because of our bed splitting the room down the middle.

In the two photos above, you can see that we had our white storage drawers split up and against the walls. We felt like we had too much stuff because of how much space the drawers took up, and it was frustrating. The dresser being parallel to the bed was also cramping the floor space we had too.

After we adjusted the bed, I decided to take advantage of the small area where the door is and I placed the drawers side by side to fill out that wall. I was pleasantly surprised to find that opening the door all the way wouldn’t hit the storage drawers, and it fills up that small area nicely!

I decided to take the crates I used as a bedside stand and place them in the corner with the mirror positioned close by. I had this idea immediately after moving everything else, and I knew that no other placement for these pieces would satisfy me. This is actually my favorite part of the room now! It draws the eye to this area and gives it character. The bedroom has a lot of corners in it and I wanted to soften that up a little bit by making this a bright corner piece.

Another angle…❤

I got these flowers for my birthday last Wednesday and added them to the top for some color, and I also found this printable scripture art and framed that and placed it on top as well. I actually found this free printable from a blogger I follow called Thrifty Décor Chick. She got the idea from holidayprintablesblog.com. There are a lot more to choose from too, you can check her post out here or at the original source.

I am so happy with how the bedroom turned out, it has a much more relaxing vibe to it and it feels more spacious!

Would you agree? Tell me what you think in the comments below, and subscribe by email if you want to know more of what I’m up to!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

