Decorating the Bookshelf For Spring

Hey everyone! I am back from a week long vacation and I have a couple of things to talk about for this week! For those of you who follow me on Instagram, you may have seen that I have new bathroom decorations I plan to talk about.

I’m still working on that and I should have that up sometime today or tomorrow. Nessy (my cat) somehow got muddy paws – she is indoor so explain that one to me – and got her prints in a couple of different spots in the bathroom. So I have to do a little cleaning up in there so that I can take some photos. It is quite possible that today I will be posting twice, or once today and then tomorrow depending on how the day goes.

ANYWAY, all of that aside, I do have a quick little project I wanted to share with you all! Kris and I inherited a bookshelf a few weeks back from his grandparents and I’ve been trying to figure out what I would like to set on top of it, and I finally got around to it last night!

 Kristofer and I were given this framed photo by his good friend David as a wedding gift to us. We love it and  we immediately had it up on the wall in our old apartment. Once we moved though, we weren’t sure where to put it, so unfortunately it has been sitting next to my desk since our move back in February.

Last night I had the random question come to mind  How might this look just casually sitting on the shelf against the wall? I really didn’t think it would look that great because of how large the frame is and how small of an area this is, but I gave it a try, and I immediately loved it!

I bought these Gypso flowers just a few hours previous and decided to place them in this wine bottle vase and pair them with the photo. Next to that is a frosted glass mason jar that is also a candle holder. Both the vase and the candle holder were items that Kris picked out when we went to Michael’s a few days ago, he chose well. I am most impressed with his decorating skills!

I then added the candle to the left as a finishing touch – it was part of our wedding and I’ve been trying to find a spot for it.

It was about $12 to put all of this together, not too expensive. The wine bottle was about $3.99 and the mason jar was $2.50, both from Michael’s. The flowers are from Safeway and they were $5.50.

So that’s it! It took about ten minutes to work this one out and I couldn’t be happier with it! The flowers and frosted candle holder add a touch of Spring to the area, something I’ve been trying to incorporate here and there throughout the apartment.

I hope you enjoyed this post, let me know in the comments what you think! Hopefully I have the comment section functioning properly now, I know a couple of people were having trouble submitting theirs, but I think I fixed it this time.

Thanks everyone!

One Reply to “Decorating the Bookshelf For Spring”

Leave a Reply

