New Storage Space for Our Food

So this last weekend Kristofer and I decided to buy some wired shelving to store our food in rather than a pantry.  When we moved in a month ago, we immediately put our food into a small cupboard area off of the living room, on the other side of the kitchen. It worked for a while, but then it slowly became an inconvenience.

We didn’t have very much food to begin with when we moved in, but once we started to shop, we noticed how cramped and narrow the cupboard was. Food was getting piled on top of each other and there was no good way to keep it organized, and it got frustrating pretty quickly. On top of that, if I am making food in the kitchen and I need something out of the pantry, I have to walk out of the kitchen and over to the other side of the wall into the living room to access the cupboard. I feel silly for having that complaint, but it was a bit frustrating how far away we had the food stored.

We decided over the weekend to make the cupboard into a linen closet and I went out on Sunday and bought some shelving at Bed Bath and Beyond.

 I was able to buy this 4 tier shelving unit for about $50 at Bed Bath and Beyond. It was a little more than I wanted to spend but sometimes it is necessary, especially if I know it’s something I will be using all the time.

In case you haven’t noticed in previous posts, Nessy enjoys being in my photos so please enjoy her photobombing. Ha!

This should take about 20 minutes to assemble…Unfortunately it took me about an hour because I didn’t have another person helping me, Kris was at work. But it is fairly easy to assemble.

Confession: Kris actually reassembled it for me today because I had it upside down. In my defense however, the directions were poor and not at all specific. I got it to stand upright, so I am just proud of that fact!

This is it all put together! It is so much more convenient to have this right off of the kitchen! And a bonus is that I was able to create more kitchen counter space by taking the small wood crate with our cook books on it and placing it on the shelf instead.

I really enjoy having all of our food out in the open, I can’t put my finger on why. I guess it’s because it is different and not many people do this. I like to do things a little differently sometimes, and something about having this all out in the open is just a simple reminder that there is life in this apartment. It isn’t a clean, perfect, well-kept museum where nothing can be touched.

So if you’re looking for more closet space and want to try a creative solution, maybe give this a try.

Thank you for reading friends!

2 thoughts on “New Storage Space for Our Food

Leave a Reply

