Wine Bottle Turned into Vase

Hello all! It has been a few days since I last wrote, I had a draft that I was getting ready to post but decided against it. In the draft, I was rejoicing over the fact that I still had a fair amount of free time despite a full time class schedule starting up on top of my part time job. Of course, shortly after I had made this claim,

BAM!

Suddenly all of the homework.

Unfortunately the last piece of fall art I worked on was from two weekends ago, and I have yet to show the world. I’m sitting at the University center with a little bit of time to kill before my economics class, so I thought I would post about my latest fall decor piece.

This decorative vase was fun to make and has a lot of great colors and the right dimensions to make it a focal point in any area of the apartment. I made this two weeks ago when my husband and I finally finished the bottle of wine we had been given on our honeymoon last summer. I decided to take it out of the recycling and do something fun with it. We are currently trying to save money for a new apartment come February so my decorative budget is quite small at the moment. So for now, I will take whatever I can get and make the best out of it, and this really turned out great! I used the bottle, and applied mixed acrylic paint to it, added some left over ribbon and bought a couple of decorative flowers from the Dollar Store.

I’m pretty happy with how this turned out because almost all of the time, when I set out to make something, it either turns out to be a failure or it is just a little different than what I had imagined. This is especially true for the color of the bottle, I am not the best at mixing paint, but I nailed it this time around. I think a lot of the time, at least from what I have personally seen of fall decoration, purple is overpowered by the other traditional fall colors (orange, red, yellow, brown, etc.), and I really wanted to step outside of that and tone it down with a nice, deep purple.

I decided to place the vase on the table in the corner, putting it here helps to tone down the clutter in this area. I am very pleased with how this turned out overall and it makes a great addition to our small home!

Leave a Reply

